About Our Members


Maryanne Stevens, Chair

Dr. Stevens is a resident of Omaha, and President of College of Saint Mary since 1996. She is also a current board member of the Greater Omaha Women’s Fund. She previously served as a Board Member of the University of Detroit Mercy, Omaha Chamber of Commerce and Omaha 2000.  Dr. Stevens has led the development of innovative programs such as the nationally recognized Mothers Living and Learning Program.  Her term as a member expires December 31, 2018. 


Jim Watts, Vice Chair

Mr. Watts is a resident of Lincoln, and Managing Partner of Watts & Hershberger P.C.  Mr. Watts serves as a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and of the Nebraska Society of Certified Public Accountants.  He previously served as a Board Member of the Nebraska Educational Finance from Authority from 1986 to 1993.  His term as a member expires December 31, 2019


Andy Bradley, Member
Mr. Bradley is an Omaha native and Executive Vice President for Marketing and Development at Goodwill Industries Inc., serving Eastern Nebraska and Southwest Iowa. He has been with goodwill since 1989.  He is active in the community, having served as president of the Graduate Organization for UNO School of Public Administration.  In addition, he is a leader in Kiwanis, having served as club President and Lieutenant Governor.  Mr. Bradley is also a district administrator for Kiwanis Aktion Clubs, which are service organizations designed specifically around the needs, interest and abilities of people with disabilities.  His term as member expires December 31, 2017. 


Russ Gronewold, Member
Mr. Gronewold is the Chief Financial Officer of Bryan Health in Lincoln, NE.  He has been at Bryan Health since 2010.  Prior to this he served in executive positions with Alegent Health, Immanuel Health Systems, Children's Hospital and Immanuel Medical Center.  Russ received his Masters of Business Administration, Finance Concentration in 1988 from UNO and his Bachelor of Arts in Business Administration, Accounting Concentration (Summa Cum Laude) in 1984 from Midland Lutheran College.  His term as member expires December 31, 2017.

Mary Hawkins, Member
Dr. Mary Hawkins has established herself as a leader and national voice in higher education since joining Bellevue University in 1995.  Before becoming University President in 2009, Hawkins served as Vice President of enrollment and Outreach until 2000, when she became Provost.  during her presidency, Dr. Hawkins has worked to establish the University's presence in community colleges across the State of Nebraska and throughout the region.  Hawkins is a member of numerous local and national boards, including the oracle Higher Education Advisory board, Nebraska Independent college Foundation, United Way of the Midlands, Greater Omaha Chamber of Commerce, and the Omaha Business Ethics Alliance.  Her term as a member expires December 31, 2019


Cori Sampson-Vokoun, Member

Ms. Sampson-Vokoun is a resident of Lincoln and Vice President of Sampson Construction Company. She is currently serving on the Board of Directors of the Bryan Health Foundation.  She has also served on the Board of Directors of the Lincoln Community Foundation, Lincoln Children’s Zoo and the Lincoln Chamber of Commerce. Her term expires December 16, 2016.


Rick Spalding, Member
Mr. Spalding is a resident of Fremont and a Financial Advisor with American Financial Advisors at Pinnacle Bank in Fremont, NE.  Mr. Spalding is currently serving on the boards of Kiwanis, Chip In for Kids Golf (for Children’s Hospital), Fremont Tennis Association and The Crisis Center board as president.   He has also served in the past on the boards of First Lutheran Church, Fremont Area Chamber, Big Brothers Big Sisters, Regional Girl Scouts, Fremont Area Philanthropy Group, Fremont Nighthawks, Midland University as past board president in addition to other community projects.  His term expires December 16, 2016.